Character modelling and animation

After much struggling I’ve managed to create a character in 3DS Max and animate it in Motion builder. The process has been long and painful but fun at the same time. It was an excellent warm-up after last year’s course and I’m exited making a more advanced character and animate it together with two other class members. So far we have only completed the base mesh but my assignment until next week is to model the characters head properly and create an idle ready animation. Looking forward to! 🙂

Here is the turnaround and concept art of our character called Ascha, made by Jessica Andersson (another member in my group)

AlexandraHytonen_TurnaroundAlexandraHytonen_Concept

This is our reference board that Jessica and I’ve been working together with.

AlexandraHytonen_Modelingreferenceboard

At first we were assigned to create one character each and work as a group, but that was changed in the last minute. Anna and I arrived with the Gotland ferry 15 minutes before our group presentation (which we didn’t even knew we had since they told it in class one hour before) and therefore we decided to go with Jessica’s concept. We were all surprised how equally we had thought of our concepts so there weren’t many things to change. There was only one thing I really wanted for the character, which was the dreadlocks. It was the first priority on my own concept and I wanted to take that with me. But since dreadlocks and armor require many polygons we have a back-up plan for Ascha’s hair but hopefully we manage to get them both work well with the 9000 polygon-limit that we have.

Leave a comment