Big Game Project (week4)

This week flew by way too fast and I haven’t got that much work done as I hoped, biggest reason for that is because I laid in bed the first two days and felt so bad I couldn’t do anything. But when I finally got up on my feet I found my way to the computer and continued where I left of.

I continued on the sketches I made last week and finished the front design of them, but when I’ve made the Pikeman and Cavalry we noticed that it wasn’t good enough to just scale the image in Unity because pixels merged together making the image blurry, therefor I had to remake them in the right size and then I went on with the Soldier and Mercenary making them in the right size directly.

newhorsie

The enemy that took the most time was the cavalry. Above you can see the first version (in color) and the finals of the outline. The reason it looks so messy is because I made each body part and weapon on a separate layer to make the whole animation process easier.

mömö

There are still some changes that I’ll make along the way, for example the colors are not decided and are something I just threw in to visualize more clearly what I wanted the characters to look like for the QA.

At the end of the week class members and teachers dropped by to test our game and we received much feedback, some things that we were aware of but also some new suggestions for the design. But overall people liked our game so far.

One thing we noticed once again is that many people are not that used to match 3 games or tower defense games overall and then it easily becomes too overwhelming when we combine them both, this resulted that we decided to aim for a more casual audience and make things much more easy which also means remaking some images.

Therefor I’ll work some extra this weekend to remake two of the materials I’ve been working on before, Iron and Glass.

Leave a comment